Testimonials

Please enjoy the testimonials about my books. If you have a testimonial to share, please email me at ogojohnson@gmail.com and I will upload it here! Thanks for visiting!

Chike the Invincible Testimonials

Chike the Invincible is a heartwarming book about courage and determination when it seems like everything is gone. Dr. Okoye-Johnson did an awesome job opening up the eyes of the reader. By giving us a look at the culture of this amazing tribe, she tapped into emotions of sadness when the Chief was killed,
along with overwhelming pride and a deeper desire to read more of this talented author’s work.
The illustrations and writing creates a feeling of actually being there.
Well done Dr. Okoye-Johnson,well done!!!

 

By Noma on July 11, 2016

Chike the Invincible is an amazing folktale thriller for children and all the young at heart. Valor, poetic justice, and intrigue will keep you enthralled until you finish reading the book. A great insight on multicultural literature. This is a must-have and must-read for everyone!

Chike the Invincible teaches great lessons that children need to know and practice while entertaining readers through its vibrant illustrations and vivid imagery. Every child deserves a copy of this book!

By Azam on June 22, 2016

Chike the Invincible is a great children’s book! It teaches its readers the value of righteousness, and never giving up on what is truly yours. Lessons like these allow young readers to live life honorably.

Editorial Reviews

FIVE STARS from READERS’ FAVORITE

Chike the Invincible by Dr. Ogo Okoye-Johnson is a beautiful story for young readers with an excellent message. Chike lived with his parents, Chief Ike and Chi-Chi, in the village of Awor. Chief Ike was powerful and he always won the biggest yam and archery competition held every year during the annual New Yam Festival. The idea of this festival was to bring the previously warring villages together. It was a grand festival and the highlight of the festival was the archery competition. Chike learned archery and started competing. He loses his father to a trap laid by his uncle Obi during an archery competition. After his father’s death, he moves with his mother to her village while Obi declares himself to be the chief of Awor. It’s a story of perseverance, valor,and determination and sees the emergence of Chike again as a true warrior.

The story has an excellent concept and conveys a good message to readers. Chike’s perseverance and determination are inspiring and his comeback from the setbacks in his life is admirable. All the characters in the story are sketched well and they complement the plot and Chike effectively. It’s a good bedtime storybook and parents and grandparents can read it out to their kids and grand kids. It’s also a good book for read aloud sessions in classrooms and school libraries.

The illustrations are vibrant and they give pace and movement to the scenes and the story. The characters also come alive via the pictures and help children connect in a better way with the plot. The strong messages of perseverance, determination, and valor make it an excellent storybook for children.
It’s a story of perseverance, valor, and determination and these strong messages make it an excellent storybook for children.
Mamta Madhavan for Readers’ Favorite March 15, 2016

Dr. Ogo Okoye-Johnson once again inspires and captivates as she successfully addresses the timeless theme of good triumphing over the evils and misfortunes of life. Although written and beautifully illustrated to inspire the imagination and attention of children, Chike the invincible just like Oma, the faithful daughter serves as a testament to the indomitable human spirit for all age groups!
Oscar Scott, Jr., Ph.D., Professor Emeritus

Oma the Faithful Daughter Testimonials

by Azam on June 23, 2016                                                                                                                                 Oma the Faithful Daughter teaches great lessons about loyalty and love which are lessons children should learn. It is an excellent book for children and adults as well.

by CeCe June 22, 2016

I read this book and I can identify with Oma’s desire to save and protect her mother. This is a great read!

by Chiedozie Okoye, MSc on February 7, 2014                                                                                          I have always been proud of my big sister Ogoo, and i will always be proud of her. Our Dad brought this book home and when i read it, i was like “wow.” A big well done to my wonderful sister.

By Oscar Scott , Jr., Ph.D. on January 9, 2001                                                                                            In Oma:The Faithful Daughter, Dr. Ogo Okoye-Johnson successfully addresses the timeless theme of a good heart and good works triumphing over the evils and misfortunes of life while captivating the reader with the sights and sounds that are an African village.

Oma, the heroine, in spite of experiencing and adapting to the loss of wealth, social position, and a father’s affection is able to summon the strength to meet and overcome the circumstances created by a life-threatening snake bite to her mother while capturing the heart of a prince.
Although written and beautifully illustrated (by Dr. Okoye-Johnson’s husband, Desing) to inspire the imagination and attention of children, Oma: The Faithful Daughter serves as a testament to the indomitable human spirit for all age groups.

by Oge Onyekaba, Esq. on April 27, 2000                                                                                                   I read this book to my children and they were enthralled by the story. My daughter’s comment was Mom, Oma’s story sounds just like Cinderella’s story. My six year old now picks it up and reads it to her younger siblings. This book’s colorful illustration would appeal to children of all ages and the message comes through loud and clear.Little ones will savor the story and follow Oma’s journey to the happy ending. An intriguing book that every home should have!

by Rochelle Owens on March 10, 2000

This book was slow at the beginning but i am also a teen so. But after a while you get into it and it gets very interesting and you realize there is more than a children’s story. There is a lot of meaning to the story. I know Dr. Johnson. She is my teacher. She works really hard at succeeding in what she does and this proves it. Her book is great!

Editorial Reviews

Mark Young at The Beacon in The Virginian-Pilot December 2, 1999 human interest article.

Vickie Hecht at The Chesapeake Post December 30, 1999 human interest article.

 

Advertisements